ZAMBOANGA DEL NORTE, December 13, 2019 – In cognizance of the exemplary performance and immense contribution of the Alternative Learning System (ALS) Mobile Teachers and District ALS Coordinators (DALSCs) in the delivery of quality basic education for out-of-school children, youth and adults (OSCYAs), the Department of Education (DepEd) held the first National Recognition for Exemplary DepEd-Delivered ALS Teachers on December 12 in Dapitan City.

The Office of the Assistant Secretary for ALS, through the ALS Task Force, recognized 17 regional awardees whose work in geographically isolated, disadvantaged, marginalized, and conflict-affected areas and communities exemplifies the dedication and hard work of ALS teachers in the promotion of literacy and quality basic education.

Evaluated and endorsed by their respective Schools Division Offices and Regional Offices based on personality and character, competence, professional growth, work achievement, impact on learners, and community development, the best DepEd-delivered ALS teachers are the following:

  • Lorna M. Calletong (Mobile Teacher, Region I)
  • Alona T. Torres (Mobile Teacher, Region II)
  • Ednalyn E. Fajardo (DALSC, Region III)
  • Theresa H. Criste (DALSC, Region IV-A)
  • Mia Jara A. Pintor (DALSC, MIMAROPA)
  • Gil S.B. Depositario (Mobile Teacher, Region V)
  • Jaspare V. Barrido (Mobile Teacher, Region VI)
  • Rima D. Erames (Mobile Teacher, Region VII)
  • Rosemarie G. Rey (Mobile Teacher, Region VIII)
  • Josefina R. Macario (DALSC, Region IX)
  • Marsan H. Alvarez (DALSC, Region X)
  • Jinglebert P. Collado (Mobile Teacher, Region XI)
  • Alma D. Libres (Mobile Teacher, Region XII)
  • Renante C. Cabalang (DALSC, Cordillera Administrative Region)
  • Romar B. Amolo (DALSC, CARAGA)
  • Isnaira J. Haron (DALSC, Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao)
  • Evie G. Madolid (DALSC, National Capital Region)

Secretary Leonor Magtolis Briones extended her appreciation for the awardees and their fellow ALS teachers through a video message: “I congratulate each and every one of you for your devotion, your commitment, and the service you have rendered to our learners; the opportunities that you have brought them, the doors that you have opened so that they will live fruitful lives even as they do not have the opportunity to go to regular school. Congratulations to each and every one of you who has contributed to the success of this program which will surely be a major legacy for this administration.”